Coming Together: RWO in Concert

Featuring Peter Thoresen, countertenor; Robert Maril, narrator; and members of the RWO Orchestra.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014 at 7pm
Illinois Jacquet Performance Space at York College CUNY (Jamaica, NY)

  • GEORGE LAM (Libretto by JOHN CLUM): “She Can Touch You” from Heartbreak Express (2014, world premiere)
  • RUBY FULTON: Lilly Tank (2011)
  • PHILIP GLASS: String Quartet No. 5 (1991)
  • FREDERIC RZEWSKI: Coming Together (1971)

RWO Orchestra
Sarah Washburn, violin
Greg Williams, viola
Jenna Girone-Virgilio, cello
Sidney Boquiren, piano
Zach Herchen, saxophone
Michael Compitello, percussion
George Lam, conductor

RWO’s in-house band, the RWO Orchestra, will present its first-ever concert program of instrumental and vocal music. The program includes a sneak peek of George Lam and John Clum’s opera-in-progress Heartbreak Express, Ruby Fulton’s Lilly Tank, Philip Glass’s String Quartet No. 5, and Frederic Rzewski’s seminal Coming Together. Members of the RWO Orchestra will be joined by countertenor Peter Thoresen and narrator Robert Maril.

York College is located in Jamaica, Queens, and can be reached via subway (E/J/Z) at Jamaica Center-Parsons/Archer.